The School Psychologists’ Association of Western Australia Inc. was established in 1989 by a small group of School Psychologists who were keen to provide professional support to and advocacy for School Psychologists in WA. Currently SPA has approximately 300 members.

SPA is affiliated with the Australian Psychologists and Counsellors in Schools (APACS) previously the Australian Guidance and Counsellors Association (AGCA) and is an active Association that is comprised of School Psychologists working in public, non-government and independent schools.

Our Association provides opportunities for resource sharing, professional development through regular events, and a forum to discuss the complex aspects of working in schools. Our professional events are open to non-members and focus on the practical aspects of working with young people and school systems.

SPA meetings occur twice a term, and are supplemented by social and professional learning events.


We are currently taking nominatins to be on the SPA Committee – please see attached flyer with all the necessary information on it. If there are any questions please don’t hesitate to contact Chrystal Makene – email is Chrystal.Makene@education.wa.edu.au

 - Committee Nomination Forms

 - Proxy Vote Form

 - SPAWA Constitution

- Conference Brochure

SPA Committee 2018 - 2019

Herman Bootsma (Membership secretary)

Proposed: Anne Lord / Seconded: Yael Seth


Matt Brennan Jones

Proposed: Kylie DuPlessis / Seconded: Russell Coleman


Kylie DuPlessis (Vice President)

Proposed: Matt Brennan Jones /  Seconded: Russell Coleman


Brendan Everett

Proposed: Chrystal Makene / Seconded: Kylie DuPlessis


Coosje Griffiths

Proposed: Eileen Kuruckchi / Seconded: Chrystal Makene


Eileen Kuruckchi

Proposed: Chrystal Makene / Seconded: Shannon Steven


Chrystal Makene (Secretary)

Proposed: Kylie DuPlessis / Seconded: Yael Seth


Brittany McCarthy

Proposed: Kylie DuPlessis / Seconded: Matt Brennan-Jones


Melissa Morgan

Proposed:  Chrystal Makene / Seconded: Shannon Steven


Priya Ramu

Proposed: Erin Pratt / Seconded:  Linda Nicholson


Stella Rodgers

Proposed: Rose Tassone  / Seconded: Kylie DuPlessis


Rose Tassone (Treasurer)

Proposed: Chrystal Makene  / Seconded: Kylie DuPlessis


Tenille Wright

Proposed: Eileen Kuruckchi / Seconded: Brittany McCarthy